Pepakura File Structure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meleck

Jr Member
I'm a professional tech writer and a casual pack rat. When I get interested in a subject, I gather all the information that I can before starting something. I have gathered all the files for the ODST armor that I could find on 4shared and on this site. I would like to propose a structure when naming files for Pepakura.

Why? Do you ask; You have all the files you need and you don't really need more than one. True and false at the same time.

There are untold repeats on 4shared and the file names are different even when the file is not. How many version of teh Rookie helmet are there on the internet? How many version do we have here on the forum? It's a rhetorical question and I don't really need the answer. I personnaly have at least three or four versions and I know I'm missing a few.

So I propose a file structure for all files proposed on this forum. I like standards.

The file would have this structure (hey I write reference manuals for code).

[Source] - [Character] [HD] [Armor piece] [Left|Right].[Modeler].[Unfolder].[obj|pdo]

where

Source is the game or reference such as Halo 3 or Halo Weta. I based this on the Hub structure.

Character is the game character using this item such as Spartan, CQB, ODST, Elite, Elite Honor Guard.

HD for high definition pieces. Otherwise it's considered normal and we can even have LD for low definition.

Armor piece is the actual armor piece or weapon name. The actual position on the body is used for the armor piece. I am working on a graphic for the ODST. For example, what`s the difference for the ODST armor between arm, forearm, and gauntlet pieces? Nothing. It would be nice to standardized.

Left or Right from the view of the character. Or where you would wear them. Pretty self explanatory.