Fibre vs Carbon Fibre vs Kevlar

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arowin

Jr Member
I've just found a good site in NZ that sells fibre glassing gear and noticed they also sell Carbon Fibre and Kevlar sheets...
As I'm still new to this stuff, could anyone outline the benefits or is it just:

Fibre: Low cost, weak, easy to work with
Carbon Fibre: Medium cost, strong, medium difficulty
Kevlar: High cost, really strong, high difficulty?

Also, could someone outline what the following means:
* indented overnight, all combinations on request.
* 300g Twill Weave 600mm wide $45.00LM
In particular, "Indented overnight" and "LM"

Having a look at ResinGod's post (http://405th.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=10108&hl=) it looks like carbon fibre needs vaccum sealing as well, I assume kevlar is the same?

http://www.nzfibreglass.co.nz/

Cheers guys

Last edited by a moderator:
By fibre i think you mean fiberglass? right?
Anyways i would add "very strong" on carbon fiber, because it's stronger then steel.

-Fin(n)ish

EDIT: also carbon fiber is super light... when we compare it to kevlar for insstance.

Finnish_Spartan said:
By fibre i think you mean fiberglass? right?
Anyways i would add "very strong" on carbon fiber, because it's stronger then steel.

-Fin(n)ish

EDIT: also carbon fiber is super light... when we compare it to kevlar for insstance.
is kevlar not bullet proof that would be a good feature for every day life

korekillerking said:
is kevlar not bullet proof that would be a good feature for every day life
Kevlar under normal circumstances is "bullet resistant". My understanding of it is it's basically plastic thats layered quite a few times over.

ODST-RAGE said:
I thought carbine fiber not that strong or am I just thinking of a carbine fiber hood :cautious:
your thinking of the hood :p