The Functions Of Blender [Updated]

Status
Not open for further replies.
The day I read that a new section would be creating for 3D modeling, I started to make this tutorial. It tells the function of almost every key and number on the keyboard (and numpad). I also put in a description of each function.

If there is a problem with anything in it (such as a typo or inaccurate description), or any of you feel that something needs to be added, I will go back and fix it in MS Word, then release an updated .pdf of it.

Tutorial last updated: 30 April 2010

http://www.4shared.com/document/vJ79AYPG/Blender_Tutorial_by_Chevysrule.html

*Moderators: If this type of tutorial (or topic) is not allowed, feel free to lock up this thread or delete it (but please explain what rule(s) I broke beforehand).*

Not trying to be rude, but you need to structure the tutorial better and make sure that you get all the relevant facts correct and actually in the tutorial. As a newb, I wouldn't be able to follow any logical learning curve, and a lot of very basic functions are left out (for instance, no advice on how to zoom or pan, or what the space button does). If you want to target newbs you need to think like a newb. You need to plot down every function, even those that are automatic for you. As a not-too-newb, I would have a hard time finding the information I was after as there is no apparent structure or even a table of contents. The tutorial jumps from area to area without any apparent logical thread to follow. Try to group things together in a more logical fashion and the tutorial will become much better.

Templar said:
Very nicely done, Chevysrule. This is a great intro for anyone wanting to try Blender. Keep up the awesome work!

Thank you, I sure will try to keep it up.

AceHigh said: