ShadoKat's Samus Aran (Metroid Prime 3) helmet sculpt - WIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadoKat

First off, HELLO, and THANK YOU for the amazing site!!! Like most everyone here, I came across the 405th while researching Spartan armor. I finished my first full pepakura suit in about three months, just in time for Halloween 2008 (low-def MK VI, more on that later), but it was terrible, and I've been wanting to improve upon it since. I will, eventually, but in about April of last year, I came across Blue Realm's helmet sculpt and Pete Mander's full suit sculpt. Even though I've never done anything like this before, I was so inspired that I felt an almost physical burning, nagging need to do a sculpt of my own.

I considered posting a WIP thread at the time, but I tend to start things with which I have no experience in the most complicated manner possible, and end up getting in WAY over my head, so I decided to hold off. Didn't want to post something that would never be finished, after all. Glad I waited... I have neither time nor talent, only being able to work a few hours a week, and doing so very slowly, at that. I ran into some problems that I couldn't reconcile and pretty much stopped work completely from like June '09 until March of this year. Then I got inspired again by Sevv's Spartan sculpt, and my hands started itching to get into the clay again, so I got back to work with a vengeance. Well, a mild grudge, anyway. At any rate, here it is, my first sculpt...

front.jpg

left-ort.jpg

left.jpg

back.jpg

right.jpg

right-ort.jpg