Thom's ODST Helmet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all and welcome to my first attempt at resin and rondo. I am attempting to create a Rookie helmet, and like I said, this is my first attempt at this so all advice and opinions are welcome. The pep file that I used is an awesome Rookie helmet modeled by Rundown. I already have it pepped out, and plan on getting to the rondo in a couple of days.

Here are a couple of pics that I took once I finished pepping it. Let me know what you guys think. :)

091110155726.jpg

091110155745.jpg

Once again, all comments are welcome, even the negative ones. There is only one way to learn and that is to jump in a do it. Thanks.

Thank you guys for all the support. I plan on doing some slush casting with rondo tonight, and I should have pics up tonight or early tomorrow. I learned from watching Mr. Ben Streeper's tutorial on it, that the ratio of body filler to resin is pretty heavy. Any last minute words of advice? :)

As long as you mix around 3-4 times the amount of body filler to resin it's pretty difficult to mess up the rondo process :)

I suggest putting 3-4 more light coats of resin on the outside of your helm after you rondo it. Then do some medium/heavy sanding over the helm (even through paper if you need to) then a quick spray of primer+wet sand to see what you need as far as Bondo work goes. Don't go crazy with bondo and cake that stuff on, the helmet has sharp edges and corners on it, since you pepped it you might as well retain them.

On my odst helm I only used a very VERY small amount of body filler on the dome and lower back of the neck area. I realized I could just apply resin and sand off the cardstock fold lines.

Thank you very much Hugh, I will keep that in mind when I am refining it with the body filler. That is some damn good advice sir. :)