MrPinski's Daft Punk Guy Manuel Helmet (Tron-Discovery)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrpinski

Jr Member
So I want to first introduce myself. My name is Igor and I have been making costumes for the past 5 years and and like many of you, I am a member of the RPF. Under the wing of Tmccarty23 I have been building this helmet for about 2 weeks now and since this is my first build, I would like to share what I have and open myself up to suggestions and criticisms. I would also like to send a special thanks out to Dung0beetle for the 3D design and unfold! The scale is 280mm and I am 5'10" Here we go...
THE PEP BUILD!
IMG_2209.jpg

IMG_2210.jpg

IMG_2211.jpg

IMG_2212.jpg

RESIN!
IMG_22311.jpg

IMG_22321.jpg

BONDO!
IMG_2241.jpg

IMG_2242.jpg

IMG_22871.jpg

IMG_22881.jpg

IMG_23251.jpg

IMG_23261.jpg

A BIT MORE SANDING...
IMG_23591.jpg

IMG_23601.jpg

VACCFORMER MADE!
IMG_23621.jpg

Love the vacuumformed visor! I didn't know it was that "easy" (perhaps it's a bit harder than it looks) but that setup seems very straight to the point. Did you build it yourself? :)

Thanks for the feedback guys! The visor is made of 1/16th" acrylic and did get a little thinner when it was stretched over the visor form. I did make the vaccuformer myself. And the Visor is blue because acrylic sheets come with a protective film on them to keep them from scratching before the customer gets them and is finished working with it. It does come off after you're done (even after vaccuforming) I know this because all the 3 failed attempts that I had all peeled off without a problem! Thanks again guys! If you know of any tips you might wanna shoot over my way, I am very open to them!

Very good work on this one. I think it is easily one of the cleanest visors I've seen in a while. I think an EVA should be in the future. : D