Props Fast Recurve Bow Build + Tutorial

Status
Not open for further replies.

J326

A friend is going to Anime Expo cosplaying as Kate Bishop (Hawkeye) and she is leaving today. Yesterday night she told me she couldn't find a toy bow anywhere so since I didn't want her costume to feel incomplete I told her I would build a Bow in pretty much a day. It's my first time building a prop bow and i wanted it to be a recurve bow similar to Kate Bishop's so I sat around looking at various things in my garage when I came across a coat hanger. Then an idea popped into my head and i decided I'd use Coat hangers and craft foam for a quick build.

So First I uncurled some wire hangers and taped them together to create something 4 feet in length and I stuck it into plastic Coat hanger that will be the base for the Grip.
0629112332.jpg

Then I bent them into the bow shape
0629112347.jpg

0630110008.jpg

At First I tried to Glue the Foam directly onto it but the wire was TOO noticeable so I glued Card stock on first.
0630110142.jpg

I then put foam over the cardstock and then wrapped foam around the Handle as well as put in a couple pieces of Scrap EVA foam. It's not the way a real recurve bow looks nor is it Kate Bishop's but it passes pretty well since I was thinking on the fly at 2 AM.
0630111200a.jpg

0630111200.jpg

0630111159.jpg

After the coat of Plasti Dip I went to sleep cuz it was 4 am by the time i got to this point.

When I woke up the Plasti Dip fully cured and Then I layerd some Mod podge on top for a smoother feel.
IMG_0320.jpg

IMG_0321.jpg

IMG_0322.jpg

I primered the bow and was awaiting for my friend to come over later on since she had a can of purple spray paint for the bow.
So after the Primer Dried I took electrical Tape and wrapped it around the Grip
IMG_0325.jpg

It was going to be hours before she came so I wanted to surprise her and decided to make the Quiver and a few arrows as well.