Mark VI build with scale sizes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wiz MC

I have been working on a Mark VI suit in my free time and figured I would post the results now that it's almost done and share what worked for me from a first time builders point of view, I also will post what PEP files I used and the scale sizes that fit me so other people starting out will have a baseline to make scaling a little easier.

This is my first build using Pepakura and also my first full body armor project so there were a few mistakes and learning curves but I found a lot of help and ideas here on 405th, I got quite
a few tips and ideas from Thorssoli's build and LongShot-X's

I am 6' 220 pounds with a 36" waste and a 41" chest the boots are sized to fit over size 14 work boots.

:pEP file links and scale sizes:
(Note that some of the scale numbers will be a little off when you enter them, I usually base everything from the height.)

Helmet:
PEP By Flyingsquirl
Scale: H=276 W=242 D=357

Shoulder/Bicep:
PEP (Left Right) By Robogenesis
Scale: H=346 W=200 D=170

Forearm:
PEP (Left Right) By Nugget
Scale: H=319 W=171 D=144

Hand Plate:
Scale: H=26 W=102 D=119

Chest:
PEP By Flyingsquirl
Scale: H=467 W=436 D=446

Belt/Codpiece:
PEP By Crackhead09
Scale: H=330 W=394 D=363

Thigh:
PEP (Left Right) By Crackhead09
Scale: H=438 W=257 D=273

Shin:
PEP (Left Right) By Crackhead09
Scale: H=395 W=171 D=234

Boot:
Scale: H=195 W=178 D=331

Tools for Pepping

peptools.jpg

For the PEP part I got some really small, sharp paper craft scissors and I use a hot glue
gun for small tabs, the hot glue hardens fast and if something is wrong you can just
heat it up and move the parts around, and plastic model glue for larger tabs because it
still drys pretty fast but gives you time to position large tabs.

For the folds I use .07 small tip ball point pins, they make nice small creases and the
colors make it easy to see what direction to fold.