Skyrim: Daedric Helmet

Status
Not open for further replies.

cuse

Its been a while since I've posted here but I decided to get back in the game. I finished a Daedric Helmet today. The file wasn't very smoothed out so I'm going to have a TON of bondo work ahead of me. I've never done resin before so this should be an interesting learning experience.

Oh and if you can't tell, I woke up my girlfriend to model this for me, she was pissed, lol.

270161_10151088727966152_79750775_n.jpg

2012-11-25_15-24-34_110-1.jpg

2012-11-25_15-25-12_256.jpg

Halo Helmet

That's some nice looking pep work. I love me so Skyrim! But you really are gonna have a lot of bondo ahead of you. Here's some advice I learned for myself the hard way, and I like to share it since a lot of people don't know how smooth pep files work.

If you have a pep file with a lot of shard edges, open the file in Pepakura Designer. Then, go to "Settings" -> "Other Settings". In the drop down box next to "Threshold" change the degrees to something around 150-160, you have to play with it a bit to see what works best for the file, and click "OK". That should smooth the file out for you and save a bunch of time.

Its too late for the helmet, but I guarantee it will save you a lot of time and energy (and money) in later peps. Trust me, its something I wish I knew when I first started. My helmet is way heavier than it needs to be because of all the bondo it took to sand it.

Hope this helps. Good luck with your build!

Its too late for the helmet, but I guarantee it will save you a lot of time and energy (and money) in later peps. Trust me, its something I wish I knew when I first started. My helmet is way heavier than it needs to be because of all the bondo it took to sand it.

10 points to Griffindor!!:eek What a life saving tip.

Cuse, awesome job mate. Keep it up and good luck! Oh and flowers will getcha out of the doghouse ;)