Google Sketchup 3d model importation Help Needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seth Knight

Alright, I try to ask only questions that are necessary and relevant to this forum. I need help with importing a high poly/large model into Google skethcup. I know skethcup isn't the most powereful modelling software out there, but it's the only one my abilities allow me to use at the moment. Is there any solution to this, using sketchup, or will I have to learn blender or another program?

-Seth

What is it you're trying to import? Sometimes, if an OBJ's poly count is high enough, importing can make the program appear to freeze up, you may even get a notification that the program is "Not Responding." A lot of times, it's just because Sketchup is taking forever to import the file. Try to wait it out. I've had to wait upwards of 5 minutes for an OBJ to be imported (I'm in the same boat you are, I don't know much about Blender yet, but I've been using Sketchup for 8 years).

I also only know how to use sketchup, riding just behind carpathia at about 7 years. just let it do its thing, it may take a while but it should import it given enough time.

Sorry to interpt in your thread, but I also use Sketchup and have a question, how to you convert a Sketchup file to obj? I use the free version that doesn't let me export to obj file.

Sorry to interpt in your thread, but I also use Sketchup and have a question, how to you convert a Sketchup file to obj? I use the free version that doesn't let me export to obj file.

The way I do it is to export the file as a .DAE file, then import that into Pepakura. I then export the model from Pepakura as an OBJ (you have to unfold it first, but you can just click "unfold" for this application). There are probably export plugins available, but this is the way I do it because I usually use Sketchup and Pepakura with each other.

Okay, I've imported the obj. file... and now I'm waiting, hopefully this works!

-Seth