[Pic Heavy] A 5 year long dream finaly became reality

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jico

[Warning, this post is going to be long. 3 Parts]

I'm not online here that often anymore. But I thought I would share the story of how I went from a complete noob to who I am today and realized a 5 year long dream.

5 Years ago me and my brothers bought an Xbox 360 to play Halo 3. Loving the game I suddenly found Adam Grumbo's video on YouTube.

After seeing the video, 13 year old me though: "Hey, I can do that too". Naive as a 13 year old could be at the time I went to the town expecting to be able to buy rebound 25, modeling clay and Smooth-On 320 at the nearest hardware store. After getting my hopes crushed I went searching on the internet to see if I could order them online. All my searches ended up leading me here. The site looked very different back in 2008. That's when I found out about Pepakura.

Fast forward 3 years, a scary eye incident, a clay meltdown and numerous different helmets I started this build.

IMG_0599.jpg

IMG_0604.jpg

IMG_0608.jpg

IMG_0623.jpg

IMG_0636.jpg

IMG_0646.jpg

I didn't have enough money at the time to buy Rebound 25 and Smooth-Cast 300 online and ship it to Norway.
Realizing this I tried to find cheaper materials in town as a replacement. My father had recommended that I use wet room membrane, the stuff that's used to seal floor tiles in bathrooms. Having tried and failed this once before I was skeptical (see number 3 bellow). But I thought "second time's the charm right?".

So here I began:
IMG_0659.jpg

IMG_0664.jpg

IMG_0668.jpg