ODST build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgtpearce

Hey guys I was thinking of doing an ODST build, though never built anything and just admired everyone else's work, I want to try one now. My question to you guys is what would you say is the least detailed ODST file or which one do you think would be good for a complete novice? I don't have the skill to do some of the more elegant ODST builds but maybe something for foam? I think a foam build is what I will try, oh I just read someone's foam build here the other day, any foam builders please add your suggestions :) thanks guys!

My first foam suit was ODST I used hugh holder files.

I know theres not alot of ready made foam templates around so there will be some fiddling to do if you decide to mod pepakura files. Andrew cook's ODST templates seem to be quite simple to make and I have seen some good success from people on here who have made them.

Just be sure to buy ALOT of knives as you will change them out often.

Personally I found the knife really easy to build and figured that if I didn't enjoy it, I could stop fairly easily with having gotten half way through a helmet/full armour. I'd say find something you wouldn't mind looking at on your shelf if you don't do anything else.

As for Foam, the more detailed an item is, the harder. I would not suggest a pistol as a first piece since it has a lot of layers and a lot of small details.

Thanks for the tips, I did some searching and found some files on another thread and found some files, though not sure how good, I'm using the suggestions others posted there to get the stuff I need to cut the mats, just have to find the mats in Canada. When I get my supply's and mats I'll use this thread to show you guys how it's coming. Any foam builders with tips or tricks let me know I could use the advice.