Alternative paper types and designing your own armor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

GentlemanFinn

Hello

I have been lurking here for some years now and i have been having a dream of creating my own armor from my own design lately.

First of i want to say that i am a novice in all aspects of armor making. I have tried with foam and found my skills... lacking... Thats why i have decided to do it the pepakura way and use thick paper (carton??). It is going to take a long time to do this and before i load up maya and start creating the armor it would be nice to get some things cleared first!

First thing first; paper is expensive where im from. I have been looking at alternative options, and have found a solution that i think would work:
http://www.bauhaus.dk/afdaekningspap-27-m2-120-cm.html
It is used when you are painting a wall to protect the floor. This roll is 27m times 120cm with a weight of 170g/m2. the price is extremely low. There is also a roll that is 10m times 1m with a thickness of 300g/m2.

My plan is to print the pattern on normal paper and then transfere the pattern over by hand to the roll. I know it is a lot of work and i am going to hate my self half way through, but it is affordable.

This big question is if it is possible?

I know this is said alot, but here it goes: I know my english isnt the best but hope you get what i am trying to say.

Kind regards

180-200gsm is plenty. 300gsm is overkill, and you'll find it very hard to work with such an inflexible material as a Pepakura project, even if you're transferring your templates over.

Ok thanks. So of the two options i should go with the 170g/m2? It is only going to make it cheaper:)

Edit:

The reason i thought of using the 300g paper, was that i wanted to use it as an base and then build all the detail on with bondo or something equivalent..