Energy Sword: WIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aramoorn

Jr Member
Got this file from pepakurapros.com Took about 3 hours off and on to cut, fold and glue. I started out using a glue stick to keep the blade extensions nice and flat. I love hot glue, but sometimes it builds too much height. Towards the end I switched to hot glue due to curves taking too long to dry. Added hot glue to the tips to hold the points. So far I really like it. I'm going to resin it and then drill small holes to fill with expanding foam. I don't want it too heavy. Depending on how the resin turns out though I may just fill it and mold it. I've never done a mold before though so we'll see. One part of the blade turned in a bit. I'm going to attempt to straighten it before resin, if not I'll fix it in bondo.
th_IMG_20140528_090257-1.jpg
close up
th_IMG_20140528_090326.jpg
the twist
th_IMG_20140528_090316.jpg

Attachments

• th_IMG_20140528_090257-1.jpg
    th_IMG_20140528_090257-1.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 141
  • th_IMG_20140528_090326.jpg
    th_IMG_20140528_090326.jpg
    6.4 KB · Views: 129
  • th_IMG_20140528_090316.jpg
    th_IMG_20140528_090316.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 130
Nice pep aramoorn, I'm attempting a energy blade too, I've pepped the handle but trying transparent paper mâché for the blades hardened with resin. Later on il light it with a toy lightsaber from amazon

Vellum could work out pricey, I was thinking of a layer of resin for the inner coat then kitchen paper and pva glue for the half dozen layers. Then a couple of outer coats to finish

Will do dude, I was thinking of a slight change of using tracing paper instead of tissue for added stability. As soon as I get it done il take pics

It could be done with patience I reckon, the idea had occurred to me the only thing I can't figure out would be how to strengthen the joins

Im excited to see this! don't see too many energy sword builds these days, hope it turns out great! My favoritest weapon! <3