Halo Reach Spartan Build WIP (first attempt- PIC Heavy)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matty

First off, I'm new to the 405th. I've read tons of the builds and tutorials here on the site; you guys do some excellent work.

I'm beginning my first build, a customized Commander Carter'ish armor. My idea is to use Carters armor as a starting point for a custom Halo Reach costume. I'm planning to do a burnt tangerine primary color with grey and black as my secondary colors. I’m also planning to use a Blue visor with a honeycomb pattern.

Thankfully I have two good friends who just finished their ODST costumes for Comic Con in San Diego next week. Between the 405th and these guys what could go wrong?

IMG_0432.JPG

(If you see these guys next week at Comic Con let them know they are famous)

Okay, I like to start with what I’ve been told is arguably the most time consuming and difficult piece of the equation… the helmet.

IMG_0372.JPG
(Freshly Peped)

This was an experience (5 days in the making)

After a quick trip to the Home Depot for supplies

Dermel – With flex extension (I highly recommend this)
Safety Glasses
Dust Masks
Gloves
Fiberglass and Finishing : Resin, Cloth, Bondo, Cups, Brushes, and Hardener
Sand paper ( 80, 400, 600)
Hand Plainer (Removes Bondo while it’s still soft)

it’s time to resin.

IMG_0404.JPG

I find that if you use about 2 less drops per ounce of hardener in the resin that you greatly increase your likely hood of completing any fiberglass work before it hardens.

IMG_0392.JPG

Time to cut out the visor and slots for my custom mesh panels. (spoiler)

After about 3 hours of Dremel use prepping my helmet for sanding and Bondo, my brand new Dremel took the coward’s way out, Suicide!. Thankfully, I bought the extended 2 year warranty, so the jokes on you home depot.

Now for some Bondo and sanding.

IMG_0425.JPGIMG_0428.JPG

That’s all for now, thanks for reading. I should have more updates tomorrow.

Comming soon....
IMG_0395.JPGIMG_0394.JPG