Re: Mjlonir Mk VI Armour, First Build. (W.I.P)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Boombas

ok so i decided to do a new thread on this because i have acually finished my pep work. so here it is

photo 2.JPG photo 1.JPG photo 3.JPG photo 4.JPG photo 5.JPG

would really like your opinion on how i did as this is my first time ever doing pepakura. my next step i believe is to do the resin, any advice on the upcoming steps would be appreciated.

Looks like you managed to get the brim straight, which is something you don't see often with a first time pep. When you do the resin make sure to apply it in sections instead of the whole helmet in one go, letting it cure before starting on another section. Otherwise you'll have too much wet cardstock and the paper won't be able to support the weight.

Thanks, do i only do one coat? Also should i star the other parts of the armour while i wait for the resin?

At an absolute minimum you should do one coat of resin on the outside and one coat on the inside. I've read of people doing 2-3 coats on the outside (extra coats done after both sides are coated at least once). Remember that the resin isn't intended to be the final hardening - it's just to give the cardstock enough strength/rigidity to withstand the real hardening process (fiberglass and/or "rondo"). You can pep your entire costume before even opening the first can of resin if you like, but you'll need a safe dry place to store them. Humidity in the air can warp the parts, large faces may "sag" over long periods of time, they could collect dust (which would need to be cleaned off before applying resin), or cats could pounce on them! I store mine in cardboard boxes with silica gel packets. My plan is to pep not one, but two full costumes over the winter and then start resining in the spring when the weather warms up again. Time will tell if I actually accomplish that or not.