Fiberglass resin vs Aqua resin

Status
Not open for further replies.
backyard fx says to use aqua resin. they say its cheaper and far less toxic than anything else you can use. im going with the aqua resin only because its cheaper.

it seems that aqua resin is a bit more expensive than polyurethane resin.

What I like about Aqua Resin is that it's just not toxic. What I don't like about it is that it can collapse your model if the aqua resin mix is too much.

I usually stick with fiberglass resin these days cause they're much easier to access to getting some more, if i need some more of those. Aqua resin, I would have to keep ordering more and wait for the shipping to arrive.

Thanks, well now I know
Aqua resin is pros: cheaper, non-toxic cons: harder to get
Fiberglass resisn pros: easier to get cons: more expensive

Also how much aqua resin(two starter kits) vs fiberglass resin(?) do I need to use for a whole suit?

well in my experience, not that Im an expert or anything FG Resin is cheaper, a quart is $10.00 a gallon $35 and it has the advantage you can find any at a dozen places locally almost wherever you are (@ least in north america) it does have the drawback of being highly toxic. though another option in the overall scheme is SmoothCast polyureathane plastic resins while thier inital cost outlays seem extravagant. a 1 gallon kit is $80 dollars 1 gallon is actually 2 gallons 1 gallon of part A and 1 gallon of part B. you can use really small batches to do the outside then slushcast w/ it on the inside, by passing ungawdly things like fiberglass and its non toxic, yes you have to order it online, unless you are fortunate enough to live in one of the few cities reynolds advanced materials happen to be located. just giving you a little more information. another thing to keep in mind doing armor isnt cheap you'll still end up spending several hundred by the time your done almost anyway you do it, the pep way.