Tutorial: Helmet paint fitting details visor lining electrics

Status
Not open for further replies.

marshon

If you want to know how to get from this..........

new_project_wip_06_by_marshon-d3hqfww.jpg

To this .........

coswip90.jpg

Read on ......

Righto, I thought I'd post this tutorial as I build my helm.
I've never done one before but I have made LOTS of props and helmets over the years for other things.
This is not the only way, the right way, the best way or the cheapest way. But it is MY way and it's my suit so take it or leave it.

The tutorial is broken down into parts, so if you need to check out just one part feel free.
Questions and comments welcome, just don't make them too senseless eh?

Part #1: Detailing the helm

Part #2: Base painting the helm

Part #3: Fitting the visor

Part #4: Sealing up and finishing the paint

Part #5: Electrical work

Part #6: Lining out the helm.

Part 1 - Detailing the helm

So you've covered the helm in Bondo right?

coswip54.jpg

You've spent 3 days with the sander for company right?

coswip55.jpg

.... and now you're wondering what to do next. Right?

OK, here's one of my methods.
Start by giving the helm an undercoat of matt paint, you can use grey primer, red oxide primer, even white will do it. I'm using a black undercoat in this case, just make sure it's MATT, otherwise the subsequent painting operations won't work correctly.

coswip56.jpg

Next find your references. I have to give mention here to Forgedreclaimer for his excellent work on references and the nice PEP I used to make this helm.

Next we need to decide what's going where and if we need holes for LEDs, wiring etc. Also we need to know if there are any panel lines to add. As usual all the references have differing bloody details, so I went for the minimum of panel lines and decided to add more with paint if required.