JFO helmet build work-log (Satchmo III)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Satchmo III

Greetings four-oh-fivers! This build thread will contain information and updates related to a JFO helmet currently being constructed by me and my younger brother (call-sign: ionHighlander (XBL), not currently listed in the 405th roster).

As a brief introduction: My brother and I live about 300 miles from one another. Since January 2011 we've been playing Reach together which allows us to hang out often despite that we're not even in the same state. Near the time we started gaming together I happened upon these forums and began a Noble Six build (http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/30987-Noble-six-build-%28Satchmo-III%29). I've been discussing what I've been learning and making with him for the last six months. About a week ago he began a two week stay with me (totally cool) and we decided we would work up his in-game helmet (JFO) while together.

We're already on the path to completing the helmet before his departure. The general plan was to harden and detail pepakura and (hopefully) mold/cast. Progress entries begin below. Thank you to IroniumCostuming for the excellent model. I couldn't find an original thread with the model so have uploaded a copy of the file to my 4shared should anyone wish to check it out (http://www.4shared.com/file/40WJtHRk/Reach_helmet_JFO__Ironium_.html).

WEEK #1 PROGRESS SUMMARY...

01) Printed out and assembled helmet pepakura
02) Applied resin to helmet's exterior
03) Applied thin rondo layer to helmet's interior
04) Applied fiberglass to helmet's interior
05) Cut face-plate opening
06) Rough-detailed with bondo and rondo

WEEK #1 PROGRESS DETAIL...

"Jump for oddball."

ionHighlander put together the pepakura in about six hours. He scored the folds, cut the pieces, and assembled them with hot glue. It's his first paper model and he's taken to it quite well...he's been working on a Halo pistol he found that I printed out some time ago.