I need some detailing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowVFX

This is my first build. I've constructed the helmet (except for some additional detailing I'm in the process of doing), but something just doesn't look right about the finish. I added some weathering which helped out a lot, but whenever I (or anyone else) looks at the helmet, it just doesn't look....real. I guess I'm looking for some advice on how to make it look more like a real helmet and less like a craft project.

helmet.jpg

Note:ignore the visor, it's temporary until the correct one arrives.

I've been building models and painting miniatures for years. One technique I like to do to make the details "pop out" is to apply a dark wash over the mini. The wash will sink into the crevices and recesses of the figure and really gives it a better appearance of depth. I've never worked on something at a 1:1 scale and I don't think the same techniques I use on my minis will translate well to this.

Anyways, in summary; Can someone give me ideas, suggestions, or make any comments that could help me get this helmet looking more real and less like a costume?

I like it, multiple angles may help for suggestions though. Maybe you could get that realistic look you want by adding lights to it.

Add some black foamie on the helmet and dry brush some silver and black acrylic on for high light and shadow

Anything that worked on you're models will in full scale IE., dry brushing, washes, textures, etc.