No1laserjocks First MKVI started

Status
Not open for further replies.

no1laserjock

Well, here it is! My first Pepakura project and Halo MKVI Left Boot.
LeftMKVI3prtBoot.jpg

I used Robogenesis 3-part HD boot. I'm just blown away by the Pepakura technology; this is the greatest thing since sliced bread or Video Games!

What have I learned:
1. BE PATIENT!
2. Build in sub components e.g combine small pieces into larger pieces and then assemble those (where practical as this may not work on some objects) so you can get your fingers in tighter spots.
3. Have lots of little tools handy like tweezers, hemostats for holding small pieces, straight edges, etc. sticks for holding the tabs inside reinforcements while gluing.
Peppingtools.jpg

4. Use toothpicks to apply precision amounts of super glue to tabs etc.
5. Making 3D file in 3DSMAX for Pepakura: my own custom Armor on the way!

IMHO, as a NOOB, I prefer the super glue over hot glue as the super glue lies very flat and bonds the paper to itself. Hot glue leaves a bump under the tabs, and like building anything, if that bump starts throwing off how the paper lies then your IDs will start getting offset...

Now on to the right boot!

Hours Committed: approx 12

Two boots done!

HD MKVI 3-Part Boots (Masterchief-Size) by Robogenises Unfolded by? (Ral Partha?)
Left Boot: Scale= 65.923989 H= 195 W= 178 D=330
Right Boot: Scale= 65.724823 H= 194 W= 177 D=330

RightandLeftBoots.jpg

The second turned out a little better. I am very pleased with how they are coming out, although I am a little concerned about the width of the boots. I think my feet are going to clack together when I walk. I have gone over every scaling tutorial I could find on the net. I kept coming back to Halogoddess' tutorial found here:
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php...re-Tutorial?highlight=pepakura+scaling+sizing