EVA Foam M-3 Predator Pistol (Mass Effect 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

GeneticSpartan

This is an M-3 Predator pistol that I am creating out of EVA foam for my friend's Mass Effect based fan film. This is my first time working with EVA foam, as well as making a prop weapon. After this gun is finished, I will be working on a foam Eclipse Mercenary armor, also for the film.

This is the template I made of the gun. I didn't add in all the details to the template since I just wanted to use them to cut out the main foam pieces. The template was traced from screenshots of the gun model that came directly from the game, so it has nearly accurate proportions.

m3_predator_template.png

My dremel tool had recently broke near the beginning of this project, so I had to sand everything by hand. XP

IMG_20120126_224123.jpg

After marking the details down with a sharpie pen, the lines, holes, and such were made using a wood burning tool. I tried my best to make as straight of freehand lines as possible, so I went pretty slow. The pill-shaped insets along the barrel were first burned in with a disc-shaped bit on the wood burning tool, and then sanded smooth later.

IMG_20120129_160236.jpg

I tried using several layers of tacky glue to cover up the seams between the layers of foam, but the glue caused smooth spots to show after the plasti dip was applied. This photo was taken before the plasti dip stage.

IMG_20120130_141818.jpg

I was planning on using PVC pipe for the two muzzles of the gun, but I decided to save the trip to the store and just use foam from an old Thanksgiving decoration. X]
I used a Rose Art marker to bend the foam around to create the circular shape, and it happened to turn out just the right size.

IMG_20120130_150238.jpg

This is the finished foam version of the gun. The thin foam pieces used for the different raised grip details of the two handles were also taken from the Thanksgiving decoration. Recycle. :3

IMG_20120130_154256.jpg