Mjolnir mk VI build (paper mache) pic heavy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robco

this is my first attempt so here goes. First the helmet... Ive only used cheap tesco value paper for the pep just to try...
35488_10150805552851694_637663744_n.jpg

After a quick spray coating of a waterproof paint (so it doesnt go soggy) Then i need to strengthen the whole interior of the helm using thick card to prevent warping later on.
576287_10150805553636694_15603527_n.jpg

156504_10150805553271694_1986489442_n.jpg

and heres more detailing using card on the outside.
529784_10150805554151694_846861511_n.jpg

Ill post more when Ive papermached and painted it :)

Looks nice, paper mache is good. Make sure its glue based. I did flour before its strong, but not good for a good finish.

Definitely a different approach to this. I wanna see how this turns out, and please be sure to explain some of the work you've done. others may be open to trying this approach.

I'm not gonna lie, when I first saw the title I wasn't very hopeful. But it looks like you've put some thought into this, I'm with Deranker, I want to see how this goes.

Are you trying to harden the helmet with paper mache by putting it on the inside of the helmet? Or are you trying to use it as a replacement for Bondo? Either way it oughta be interesting, but if you are in fact trying to harden the inside with it, then you may have a bit of difficulty.

I tried it before, and since gravity pulls all the paste down to the center of the helmet where the top of your head would sit, it tends to not dry very well there. Ya know, being on the inside of the helmet and all with all that running downhill. And of course, flour and water that never dries will lead to mold and mildew.

I'm interested to see this. Thought I'd just throw that up as a word of advice in case you are taking that route. Enjoy your build man, you're off to a great start.