[FINISHED] I'm alive, I'm back, and I'm starting my own foam armor build! (Pic heavy)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CPO mendez

Hello once again 405th, It's CPO Mendez. I'm back after a long hiatus and have finally started my own Reach Foam build for the Halo 4 launch party. Since i'm new to the foam method, I'll be making my custom halo reach armor instead of the Chief's snazzy new suit. I'll also be hardening the foam armor with a fiberglass resin method,
Found here: http://www.xrobots.co.uk/coating/

Here's the foam files I have as of now:
Forearms
Biceps
Torso
Codpiece
thighs
Shins
(All courtesy of L3X and his crazy amazing 3D modeling skills)
But i still need foam files for a helmet, chest add-ons, boots, and handplates. I'd be extremely grateful if anyone could float these my way.

Here's what i have so far:

i started with the right thigh (sorry about the camera quality):
IMG_1323.jpg

IMG_1324.jpg

IMG_1325.jpg

IMG_1334.jpg

IMG_1337.jpg

IMG_1339.jpg

As you can see it turned out as an absolutely ABYSMAL train wreck. I tried doing the thigh over again, which turned out as a slightly prettier train wreck:
IMG_1342.jpg

IMG_1343.jpg

IMG_1345.jpg

So this project is off to an awful start.
But you can pull the gun out of your mouth, it gets a little better from here.
After i finished crying in the shame corner, i started on the shin and forearm:
IMG_1346.jpg

IMG_1348.jpg

IMG_1349.jpg

IMG_1350.jpg

IMG_1351.jpg

IMG_1352.jpg

This is what i have so far. Definitely not pretty, but it's there. I'll be updating soon with the left shin and forearm.

UPDATE TIEM:

I just came home and caught a Vandal red handed in my garage:
IMG_1357.jpg

IMG_1354.jpg

My puppy, Tex, got bored and decided to have a little fun with my forearm piece.
Looks like it's damaged beyond repair:
IMG_1356.jpg

IMG_1355.jpg

Ouch, that sucks. Lesson learned, put the armor out of reach of the dog. Hopefully he didn't swallow too much foam.