Kirrou's Reach Foam Spartan Semi-Scratch Build [Pic Heavy]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kirrou

Hello 405th!!! Long time no see. I am back! Hahaha So when I last left you, I was half way through my ODST build. That has been placed on hold due to this build. I stopped back then due to life, work, and other things. But I became super inspired to build and work with foam after watching my friend RoxyRoo build herself a super sexy set of armor. Not to mention all the other amazing foam builds. So not wanting to be left out of the EVA foam crazy I am giving it a go!

Here are my results so far...

I first started with L3X's torso pep, which is an awesome file. But there were a lot of things I wanted to change to make it a bit more game accurate. After modifing it a ton so I decided on just making my templates from scratch. It was a huge pain but I am very pleased with the results.

This is my first attempt using the pep file. Notice all of the seams.
Reach_build-3_zpsa460e6eb.jpg

Unfotunately I didn't take very many progress pics.

This is me working on the back part now all done from scratch using the pep file for a scale reference ONLY.
Reach_build-2_zps280921b5.jpg

Now lets fast forward a few weeks.
Reach_build-5_zps3bd49023.jpg

Still working on the collar and neckseal. But its coming along.

Reach_build-9_zps7b61b07d.jpg

The whole top part is made with only two pieces bent in a few different spots. This eliminated a buch of seams and gives a bit more game accurate look.

Reach_build-6_zpsf21ddf85.jpg

The chest opens up in the bottom and is secured with parashoot clips. It is super easy to put on and take off.

Reach_build-8_zpsdb438358.jpg

Started working on the underarmor section of the chest.

Reach_build-7_zps3f3f8974.jpg

I still have a few more details I want to add to the back but I am pretty happy with it so far.
The colored pieces are all foamies. They are great for adding detail or cleaning up messy areas.