Dead Space Marker Rig Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

JayMoore

Hey everyone, after roaming this site for awhile and seeing some of the amazing things people have built on this site, I thought it was about time I shared a build. This is my first build attempt and I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff. So constructive crituqing is always welcome. As the title says Im building a Dead Space Rig, Ive seen afew here and there and am inpressed by the work and dedication those people have put into there builds, and after doing this one I can understand how time consuming and the amount of effort it takes to build things like this.
So without further ado, here's what ive been working on:

The first part thats completely complete is the Helmet, I've put about 25-30 hrs in total into it and am very pleased with the outcome. Being my first helmet i'd have to say its been the hardest part of this costume to complete. I started off by using an old skateboard helmet I had laying around, I cut it in half, fiberglassed it then bondo'd it to make it fit closer to my head. I then used an old grinding faceplate for the from and moutned it with steel brackets I fabricated. Then all I did was cut foam parts and glued them on. I used a soldering pen to carve and cut shapes into the foam I laid out and then painted it. And this is the outcome:

IMG924_zps08445c66.jpg

IMG1047_zps37aee063.jpg

Will have better pictures soon!

aww aww aww aww aww aww aww aww aww aww you totally hit me !! DUUUDE !! :O

i love dead space with all my life and i will follow this till its finished !!! i wanna see more please !!

Btw i loooooove the tatoos in the helmet !

Totally excited to see a dead space build! the game doesn't get enough love from the prop community. One question though: what rig is this based off of? the DS1 suits or the Engineering rig from DS2?