Advice for Beginners?

Status
Not open for further replies.

londondee

Hello,

I just joined and am looking to cosplay as Kat (Halo Reach) for a convention in the future. I have never built armour before and am looking for some tips.

I have looked about this and other websites and it seems that there are two options; EVA foam and cardboard with coating. I have been leaning towards the EVA foam because this looks easier but I was wondering if someone might have time to share a few tips or perhaps point me towards some resources or tutorials for beginners.

I am confident that I can create a custom under suit and seals as I usually sew all of my outfits for cosplay but otherwise I am a bit nervous :)

Thanks!

p.s. This is my first ever forum post so hopefully I have adhered to all necessary etiquette.

welcome!
the only advice I can give you is: take your time. all the rushed parts are going to give you more work in the next steps.
good luck on your project, I'm looking forward more news ^^

Thanks! I have been looking around and found loads of great information. I am sure I will get stuck lots of times so it is nice to find a group of people willing to share tips!

Keep a plentiful supply of SHARP blades. Don't push it if they are getting blunt. Take your time. Cut some scraps and practice cutting, folding, bending, heating and gluing.
Have a look at JFCustom's tips for folding and gluing.

Scroll to about half-way down this page and there's some great pictures and explanations that really help.

SB

p.s. This is my first ever forum post so hopefully I have adhered to all necessary etiquette.
Lol, this was my concern posting here for the first time too. I kept checking back to see if someone told me I had posted in the wrong spot or something.