Steel and Copper Light Rifle project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Naughty Zoot

Hey everyone,
I'm new to the 405th but I've seen so much of your work and its an amazing world of creativity. You guys are all awesome and I secretly wish I had more time and could build armor and so on.
This is the one and only halo project I've been able to do. An my OCD went WAY out of control.

This Light rifle is mad out of cold rolled steel. Most of the parts were laser cut but some were hand cut in my shop. I welded the whole thing together in my garage in Arizona (Which is insanely hot) and ground down all the welds, hand sanded and finished the whole thing. Some parts are 1/4" steel but most of the body is 14 guage. There are also parts which are made from 1/4" thick copper plate, including a working trigger. Its got cold cathode lighting and an internal battery. It weighs 28lbs and is about 40" long. Its a beast. It is not a strictly accurate replica, I know, but I can't resist having a little fun with the design. -Sorry to all of you hard core accuracy guys.

I'd like to sell it but I don't really know how to go about that. I'd appreciate any tips or comments or questions too.
Thanks guys! IMG_5962.jpgIMG_5941.jpgIMG_5973.jpgIMG_5982.jpgIMG_5984.jpgIMG_5986.jpgIMG_5988.jpgIMG_5989.jpgIMG_6000.jpg

It may not be 100% accuracy, but that doesn't stop if from being one of the most beautiful objects in the costuming world! :O

Looks like it should be worth about $3k minimum, maybe more like $4-5k. If you'd gone for 98%+ accuracy, it'd probably be more like $9k. I'd try maybe the RPF junkyard and Etsy, and try to get some pop/geek/maker culture blog coverage (Kotaku, Make, maybe Boing Boing, I dunno, my mind's just blanked) to drum up a bit of audience for it. I'm not sure who you'd contact, but maybe make sure first that MS/343i don't want to buy it for a lobby/entrance display somewhere either.

Gaaah! This is some damn fine work :thumbsup