tips on not getting bored while working on my 1st helmet

Status
Not open for further replies.

webtiger

I would like to know if anyone out there had tips on keeping my project going and not stopping and also suggestions for easy helmets and guns to make

I like watching netflix and youtube. Music can also help. Look for LD(low detail/definition) models, they have less polygons, which means less faces, which means larger parts, and easier overall. Im currently working on a Facade of the Hezen Lords helmet for warlocks from Destiny. I had to unfold it myself because I couldnt find an unfolded one, and finding a good scale is a little difficult. Either way, best of luck!

I'm brand new to this stuff, much like you are, and I'm finding myself staying focused by multi-tasking. Must like Ghost suggested, I watch videos on Youtube, watch Anime, listen to music, and I take a lot of breaks. I also try to talk to people on Skype too. It helps having patience and also spreading out your timing if you can. Due to real life, I can't sit down for six hours at a time and just build my helmet, so I use building it more of a "get away from it all" type of thing, and it works. Well, it's worked so far! I have given myself plenty of time to build and complete my suit, so I have a lot of time to work with. If you don't, then I'd say try to keep yourself focused with some music or some kind of television/anime. Maybe watch a marathon of Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit movies.

Building is a zen thing. You already know what you have to do, but 95% of the time it's not taking up much brain space and your fingers can do it themselves. I use podcasts, since it leaves my eyes free to focus on the detail of the work.

Occasionally I do use YouTube videos (just talking head ones though, video podcasts really, like Still Untitled and Prop: Live, I can't do ones I have to actively pay attention to like Design Cinema) but only when what I'm doing is pretty tolerant of split attention.