halo Mk V [B] helmet wip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tetro

Jr Member
hi guys! a while ago I started my own build, the sstandard Mk V helmet from halo reach. as it's my first project I've dealt with moments of pure self confidence, and moments of "I just should throw it away" and stuf (see attachments, I totally forgot how to put pics in the thread...) tomorow I'll start pouring silicone on this thing, any advices, before I risk months of work? (yeah I'm quite slow compared to some -most- of you) thanks for reading, and any advice would be welcome!
10533759_758061260923341_5946848583439476991_n.jpg10649704_778327012230099_7237952046203617779_n.jpg11074306_800483663361368_3718028017969737593_o.jpg11181784_808241582585576_5628950309737430971_o.jpgP1000812.JPG

Looks good so far! Don't worry about being slow most of us tend to take months even years to do these builds. Mind if I ask what file you used? I'm in the process of building and ODST suit but I tend to get side tracked on other projects.

First coat of silicone applied!
P1000815.JPG
this silicone's actually quite a pain, it's a 24h demold, so between each coat I have to wait nearly a full day..
I was planning on showing the result for a 3D animation school I got an interview with next week, but at this rate I may have nothing but my draws to show..

thanks!
basically I took 5 days to do the pepakura, 4 or 5 month of bondo and sanding over and over again.
I bought plastiline to make the final details, things I didn't manage to get with the pepakura model or the filler thing.
oh and also a lot of game refs, to be sure I didn't screw up things by choosing a bad file or folding on the wrong angle..

I just applied the second silicone layer, I hope I won't screw it all!

EDIT: silicone is taking WAY too much time to cure... I hope it will otherwise it's months of work gone and wasted