TDOEEVA - Plague Mask - Completed

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdoeeva

Good day!

I started educating myself in pepakura builds about a month ago. First, I built a Skyrim Daedric Helmet from pep, but put it aside after the first stage to better practice using Bondo and Fiberglass with this plague mask. I acquired the pepakura files from Demorai on DeviantArt. It's thanks to him that I was able to start, as I have yet learned how to isolate and unfold an item to build.

First photo is after the outer resin coat and the inner fiberglass. I'm aware of how messy that inside shot is, this is my first time working with fiberglass. Then we have my learning to bondo and then finally the last two are the completed piece.

The bondo took many layers (similarly a new acquaintance of mine) since my technique for applying was a learning progress. Let's just say there was a lot of sanding.

One mistake I made (out of a few) was that after applying the resin (perhaps also the fiberglass) I did not set it down correctly to dry. I put it on one side which caused the piece to "set" unevenly, caving on one side of bottom area (the edges that sit along the neck) and bulging on the other.

I'd love some feedback on the piece. It's not for any sort of cosplay, it was merely meant as a practice item for the helmet I'm working on.

Attachments

• IMG_20150616_100536444.jpg
    IMG_20150616_100536444.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 144
  • IMG_20150616_100555967.jpg
    IMG_20150616_100555967.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 129
  • IMG_20150623_162537186_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20150623_162537186_HDR.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 148
  • plague comp1.jpg
    plague comp1.jpg
    116.4 KB · Views: 138
  • plague comp2.jpg
    plague comp2.jpg
    126.3 KB · Views: 145
looks good. you may have been able to cut down on sanding if you had bracing down inside the nose

Looks fantastic, very well done, especially as its a sort of 'first attempt'