New to the cosplay world and looking for advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mxcavallaro

Hey guys i'm new to the cosplay world and I am currently deciding how to start my first set of armor. If anybody has experience with Eva foams and pepakura it would be greatly appreciated to spread any knowledge to someone who has no idea where to start. Are certain models of armor easier to construct than others? specific materials I could use? Any and all advice is very welcome.
Thanks guys
Max

I'm on the same boat it'd be great to get some advice on where to start off, i'm planning on using Eva foams also for my first set also.

First off, welcome to the forums!

Both eva foam and pepakura methods have their pros and cons, it's just a matter of deciding what is right for you, my best advice would be to spend a good deal of time reading through some of the many build threads in this forum. A few things to factor in when choosing your method of building are availability of materials in your area, as well as if you are willing to invest in some safety gear (more so for pepakura).

You can tap the link in my signature to my build thread, and I touch on both pepakura and foam building and my processes for costume making!

I would suggest doing a foam build first. Pepakura and fiberglass resin is one of the preferred methods but it's difficult to do if you don't have room outside and the necessary safety gear. Plus, from my personal experience, it's not fun to use!! (My next build will be foam!)

You can check out my build thread to check out how I did the fiberglass. I tried to take many photos to give an idea of each step in the process. There's also many many others here have done the same. ( I based my build on many here but used longshotx, carpathias and spitfire22v, very good pictures in their threads--If you're doing a different gear set, just use the search function and try and find other builds with the same gear you're using)