My first Halo armor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nexstar

Hi this is my first time making a suit of armor so I have a few questions that I wasn't able to find answers to.
First of all, I've already finished the first step which is pepakura-ing the armor (I've folded and glued the entire thing) and now I've finished applying resin on the outside of the armor and am getting ready to apply resin on the inside too.
My first problem is that I don't know what the next step is. I've seen on the Instructable's website
http://www.instructables.com/id/Build-Halo-Armor/
that the next step is to fiberglass the inside of the armor and I've seen on cereal kill3r's youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/dghezzo
that the next step is to mix the fiberglass resin with bondo (a 50-50 mixture) and apply that to the inside. However he only seemed to do this to his chestplate.

Essentially I want to know what everyone thinks of both these methods, are they supposed to be used one on top of the other, have I misunderstood and the bondo+resin mixture is supposed to be used only on the chestplate, or is one simply better than the other.

As a side note I plan to wear this to different events if I get the chance (in case one is better at lasting a long time).

Please give me any advice you may have.

Fiberglassing and rondo ( resin and bondo mixture) coating are generally used independent of each other. For example, I used rondo to coat the inside of my helmet, as I was unfamiliar with using fiberglass. Personally, if I were to do it again, I would just use fiberglass. Let me toss some pros and cons at you!

Fiberglass:
Pros:
Relatively light
Very strong
Cons:
Takes a little more finesse and time than rondo.

Rondo:
Pros:
Very quick and easy to mix and slosh a few coats around in an armor piece or helmet.

Cons:
Quite heavy and rather brittle.
Challenging to keep even thickness.