First foam build. Ever.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caboose007

Hi guys,
So i'm kinda new to all this and i'm super duper excited to be cosplaying Caboose! I officially finished my first foam build piece of the left and right thigh piece/s and i'm pretty happy with how it turned out ^_^
But in regards to scaling, how would i go about scaling the torso? I'm leaving that till last and my next part i'm going to build is the codpiece and helmet! ^_^

Attachments

• thigh 3.jpg
    thigh 3.jpg
    45.7 KB · Views: 163
  • thigh 1.jpg
    thigh 1.jpg
    38.5 KB · Views: 144
  • thigh 2.jpg
    thigh 2.jpg
    132.6 KB · Views: 156
Here is a link to Halo Goddess's scaling guide. Just remember to add an inch or two to the measurements for the foam you are using.

HaloGoddess' "How To Scale" and More Tutorial
http://www.405th.com/showthread.php?t=31627

"I don't know what's weirder, that you're fighting a stuffed animal, or that you seem to be losing" - Suzie

Looks good. I'd suggested try and harden it and then add the fine detailing to it then. And for the helmet I highly recommend pepping it to add the detail in. I'm not sure if you wanna go that route but it's looking good so far.

Can't wait to see the rest of the build.

Famous last words.... Hold my coke this is gonna be awesome -every patient known to man.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks guys! I was also wondering about any tips and tricks/techniques anyone might have for painting the suit once it's all finished and what kind of paint to use/which one works best? :)

There are several techniques to painting that are mentioned here and many more on YouTube. I would first start doing a search and read read and read some more.