help with armor making

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaredes291

hi i am new to making armor
so i need to know if i use foam or fiberglass is one cheper?

what files do i need to download?
halo 2 style
and is there a TUT i can use?
thanks

Everything you need to get started is in the stuck threads, best to check the top most one in this area if the forum as itll lead you to all the useful threads you need to answer these questions!

As for the Files, you find what your looking for in the file archive, price difference I can't help with, I'm planning a pep build atm and haven't looked into foam as I don't trust myself with it!

i wouldnt decide what to use on price but on what you prefer take your time with builds so even more xpensive ones can be done over time. i would recommend watching a lot of foam and pepekura tuts on youtube and this site to see what seems to fit you more. and maybe you count do some small test projects first to see what you like more.

price wise both aren't exactly cheap and depend on what brands and materials you buy.

Hi, welcome!

For foam, not sure if you live in the US, but this stuff is extremely cheap: http://www.harborfreight.com/anti-fatigue-foam-mat-set-4-pc-61607.html.
If you have a Harbor Freight near you can you pick up a few packs. I believe other places like Home Depot, Ikea, Lowes may sell it also. Sometimes they're on sale. I bought some last weekend and single pack is 4 25"x25" mats. This should be enough to do most of a suit (depending on your size), so for roughly $20-$25 you can have most of what you need as far as building material, not including glue gun, glue, hot knife and/or exacto knife, etc.

Check the file database for Halo 2 files you can download, you'll probably need Pepkura Designer, or Pepkura Viewer to look at them/print them out.
As mentioned, for tutorials there's plenty of sticky threads on this site you can look through, as well as Youtube.