The New Pepakura Folding Thread For Complete Noobs!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

devilsson2010

Ok, since the other folding thread doesn't have pictures, and recently some new guys need to know what mountain and valley folds look like, I've recreated the folding thread!! Please note that the original Pepakura folding thread was by Iceman29 :). So let's begin.

Well for the real beginners, this is what a mountain and valley fold look like:

(A mountain fold makes the shape of a mountain)
img0074yo6.jpg

(And wouldn't you know it, a valley fold makes the shape of a valley (a valley is the opposite of a mountian, so think of a ditch or something))
img0078zr9.jpg

Generally, when you print out any pepakura sheet (unless you manually changed the settings), the dashed lines ( _ _ _ _ _ _ ) are the mountain folds, and the dotted lines ( _ . _ . _ . _ . _ ) are valley folds.

There are a few kinds of folds we can do. There's:

-Folding by hand (Basically the "I don't need to sped the extra 5 seconds doing a good fold" way)
-Folding while using a pen to make clean lines (the "I do near-perfect folds" way)
-Folding with the dull end of an x-acto knife (the "I am an elite folder" way)

This is a run-down of each fold:

The first fold is generally for no one. It just makes bad, uneven folds and doesn't come out well. Nothing good can come of this fold.
img0069lk9.jpg

The second fold is generally the best for new guys, and anyone else really. You need 2 different colored pens and a ruler. You line the ruler up with the line you are going to fold, then go back and forth on it with a pen atleast 3 times (the pen color corresponds to a mountain or valley fold because you will be going over the dotted/dashed line and unless you write it down or something you won't be able to tell what type of fold it is)
img0080xg5.jpg