A few questions from a noob + Pepakura Vs Foam ODST armour.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BurnItWithFire7

Hi, I'm new to costuming, and I have been planning to build a set of ODST armour. I have considered several options, and wanted to ask what you think is best for what I am trying to accomplish.
For the armour what would you recommend using pepakura, or go for the foam route? (any other ideas would be welcome)
One idea of mine would be to add aluminium to certain foam parts (such as the chest, legs pouldrons etc) to give it some rigidity and authentic look. Has anyone had any experience with this?
And are there any general tips on costuming and ODST armour in general?
As I said, I am new to this and I am open to any suggestions.
Thanks.

I would suggest doing foam ODST armor for a couple of reasons. Foam is faster, more comfortable, and less expensive than pepakura. Also, if you look up DaFrontlineTrooper, you can see probably the easiest to make templates and tutorials for any armor set. The only draw back is that it is slightly less accurate, but it is a small fraction of the population who would actually be able notice the differences.

It really depends on your choice. I'll list the pros and cons for you

Pepakura
Pros: -Looks detailed and authentic
-Gives it rigidity which has the "Armour" feel
-Tough and lasts long
-Fibreglass makes it hard, strong

Cons: -Heavy and troublesome (if you're using rondo as a method of hardening)
-less mobility
-Expensive and time consuming

Foam
Pros: -Soft and lightweight
-Cheap and readily available
-Takes less time to complete your suit
-Great mobility
-saves you the hassle of Bondo which i dislike using

Cons: -Less detail compared to pepakura
-your suit might be deformed when left in the car under the hot sun or when stuffed inside a box
-The quality of your suit might degrade over time

If you choose to go with foam, i suggest you checking out DaFrontlineTrooper's tutorials on youtube as they're VERY helpful