Alien's ODST Build [Pic Heavy]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, this is my first attempt at a whole ODST armor build. I have had experience with pepakura and the rest, but I have never done a whole suit before. So, here we go!

What exactly am I building?

I am building the full ODST armor, including a weapon and a vacuum-formed visor (thanks to a friend). I will use fiberglass and resin for strengthening, not clay, casting, etc. etc.

Why am I doing this?

I almost always have some project to work on, whether it be video game development, other 3D modeling, and so on. Recently I've thought up and started a few small projects, but they never really worked out. Just recently, I remembered the Halo armor project I tried a while back and decided to go back into it.

What time do I have available?

I will get work done every day on this! Marching Band has just finished, so the only thing that is in my schedule until school starts is a Martial Arts class I teach/learn twice a week. Unfortunately there's been an ordeal, so I will be teaching more, and will have to spend a bit more time out of class helping out. But, other than that, I'm good. (School starts here on the 22nd btw)

Any goals on this?

I hope to have a majority of this done by Halloween, I would actually love to have this done by Halloween due to temperature drop, since resin works at +60F. However I WILL NOT rush this, so we will have to see. Another goal is to also build a fully-functional weapon (only a BB gun), just to go with the suit. I'm not sure which weapon I will build, so recommend one for me!

Pepakura Files

405th All-in-one Pep Pack - http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/26285-All-in-One-Halo-Pepakura-Pack

Kirrou's Game Accurate Pep Files - http://www.405th.com/showthread.php/22471-New-Hd-Odst-Game-Accurate-Pep-Files

Reference Pics

For detail - http://images.wikia.com/halo/images/8/8d/Odst2.jpg

For placement - http://www.elangworthy.com/odst_full_armor02_labelled.jpg