Cons weapons and helmets and masks Oh My!

Status
Not open for further replies.

peterthethinker

Member DIN
S386
Well I got some sad news from some other members today.. It looks like ECCC is playing dumb.Or they have a VERY bad writer .

They want only foam and cardboard props.
Prop weapons will be allowed providing they are composed of foam or cardboard only. Prop firearms are allowed only if they cannot be mistaken for real weapons. The barrel of all prop weapons must be covered with brightly-colored caps. Prop bows will be allowed providing they have soft tips.

There goes every projectile gun in the UNSC..

Now I am not a lawyer and not a english major, ( the latter is painfully obvious )
I may read this a few ways

Weapons must be foam or cardboard . foam in the eyes of a engeneer and not a con staff are WAY diff things....

If they want to be proper Mech eng nerd about it then rating the item on a durometer scale in hardness is the Real way to fairly judge a prop.... LIke they care.

Firearms are addresed in its own section. shurely they dont expect every stormtroooper to carry a FOAM or worse a cardboard brown blaster!

Metal is out. fine . fair. but plastic is what we all use.

Technicly Pep is out Or is it? it IS cardboard and LOADS of resin;) ...

I consider firearms to be weapons . So is it a AND function or an OR function ?

Does "prop weapons " cover only non firearms ?
If so then its a WHOLE lot better then it sounds.
Or do they consider the firearms to be Under prop weapons.

Prop firearms are allowed only if they cannot be mistaken for real weapons.

Like THAT is definable....

AS you can see the person who wrote the weapons document might have FAR better grammer then Ill ever have. But has a VERY poor understanding on how to clearly define things.

I On the other hand enjoy tech writing ..

* Weapons policy
* Non Firearms besides bows. Must be made of cardboard or a soft foam. Eg EVA as to prevent blunt trama.