diluting bondo thought

Status
Not open for further replies.

calladar

I am new to this but have years of experience in RC and RC building. was looking for something new for me and my son. we have both been making armor here the last couple of weeks and i was in the process of bonsoing the outside of my sons helmet for sanding when i had an idea.

In RC when working with foam wings and you are going to fierglass the wing you will dilute the epoxy with denatured alcohol which in turn will make it thinner but have the same strength when hardened. it makes it so that a lighter more even coat can be applied to the wings and conserve on weight.

denatured alcohol works well for this and i have used this techniqe alot for RC. I was considering trying this with the bondo to make a diluted batch which would be smother and not quite as thick and see if i could get a smother finnish out of the bondo to decrease the sanding and make final prep before painting easier.

i was wondering if anyone had tried this with bondo or not. if no one has i will try it this weekend when i am off and i will let you all know how well (or not so well) it worked.

the best soulution is bondo + fiberglass resin. they are compatible because bondo IS fiberglass resin, except with a thickening agent to make it a putty. Commonly known as "rondo" or "mud"

Yea used the rondo on the inside. i was thinking that diluting the bondo to a paste instead of a puddy would allow for a thinner / smother coat on the ouside allowing for less sanding. i like the rondo for somethings but i was thinking of trying to decrease work on sanding. don't know guess i'm lazy.. or the old saying work smarter not harder. never tried this but going to this weekend.