Status
Not open for further replies.

Cadet

Executive Officer
Division Staff
Community Staff
Member DIN
S111
The Deep Eyes armor is a costume I have wanted to do since I saw a group of them at DragonCon 2005 from Nightmare Armor Studios. I had loved the movie and the armor when I first saw Spirits Within around four years earlier, but seeing them in real life lit a fire in me that has smoldered for over 15 years.

For a few years after that Con kits and sets from NAS and another studio called Hanger18 (Who I would later find out built theirs before NAS and who had a much more accurate, proportional, and cleaner set than NAS) would occasionally pop up on TheRPF or eBay, but as I was a college student at the height of their availability, I could never afford them when they showed up. By the time I could, both studios, like the movie itself, had vanished from public consciousness.

Years ago I was lucky enough to snag the helmet on eBay, but it has sat on a shelf for years as I continued to just casually keep an eye out for kits, for pepakura files, for 3D print STLs, any sign someone else remembered this armor and was going to take the initiative on producing it. At some point I had kind of given up on it. And then my friend asked why I didn't just make it myself. Well, I thought I never could, not without someone else's patterns or kits. That's my strength, kit building, not scratch building.

But then I stared at the action figure on my desk. The armor wasn't really that bad. It had a lot of big, flat surfaces. I already had the helmet, arguably the most complicated piece.

Maybe I could.

So, let's find out
20220526_154022.jpg