Fresh Meat

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanSpartan122

Hey guys.

I am new to this whole thing, but I am really excited. Looking to start making my first Halo Spartan Suit shortly (probably an Infinite suit). Any tips/tricks would be appreciated. Probably going to use Foam but could 3d Print too. I was also curious for those of you who are shorter (I'm 5'6), so you use stilts or go with your "normal" size? Thanks!

Part of my concern with using stilts is that the rest of me does not match someone who is 7' tall, sure I could pad things, but my arms would be too short.

I did read the 3d Printer recommendations but I was curious what ya'all use and what you like/dislike about your printers and setups. Any pictures of setups too is appreciated.

Thanks.

Welcome! For starting out, foam is a great medium to start building with. You’re gonna want to pick up a craft knife with replaceable blades, and replace your blades somewhat often as there’s nothing that dulls a knife quite like foam. Super glue is good for keeping it together, I recommend loctite liquid glue for its strength, then reinforcing the back of the seams with hot glue. Get some foam and practice making some bevel cuts, it’s a bit tricky at first but you’ll get the hang of it. There’s plenty of tutorials on YouTube and here so I hope this helps!

I like to use foam, at first it's a little iffy to work with but then you get the hang of it. As for your height just go as you normally are. The patterns would definitely be messed up if you added extra height as like you said the rest of your body doesn't match someone who is 7". I'm 5"4' and yes while that is quite small for a spartan, armor fitting and being proportional is more important