FUD Master Chief Helmet Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason 078

Since I have another three weeks to wait for my Halo Wars pep files to be completed, I decided that I would learn on a relatively simple (yeah, right) project. So, here is my quick build log for the Forward Unto Dawn Master Chief helmet. I figure, I'll get the kinks out making this and then move on to the Halo Wars project.

I began the project at 10:00 and spent the next twelve engrossed in the build. I needed to do something to keep my mind off of the idiots setting off illegal fireworks around the area. You see, I'm a vet and it kind of send me crawling out of my skin to hear unannounced explosions.

Timeline

10:00
I printed the pages for the Helmet and then began cutting them out using my Cameo. This thing is very sweet and I got it done without any problems whatsoever. Though there is half a millimeter difference on some of the larger pieces, but I figure this can be taken care of in the "scrape the hell out of it with a rasp" phase.

14:37
067d1b3f-b139-4071-a8c4-f02f3602b155_zpsc1f92721.jpg

And so it begins. I separated the various parts by their general shape and have the model open on my computer. My tools are an exacto knife (for scoring the folds with the back of the blade), a metal ruler (for straight lines), a box of 1000 popsicle sticks (you’ll see why soon), gel control glue (it comes out in a nice little gel blob and doesn’t burn my fingertips), and a cutting mat (to prevent my wife from going to prison for homicide after I cut into the table). Ignore the foam, it just wants attention.

15:07
d3f3fc5d-a96c-4d3d-b43a-f8219e0b44f0_zpsfe6e2f43.jpg

The visor is assembled. You will notice that I left out two small parts. Those are so I do not cover the “nose” when I harden it. Otherwise, yay me, I can pepakura. The reason it took so long is that I was distracted by… <looks left and right> My Little Pony on the television.

20:58