Props Halo 3/ Reach Shotgun

Status
Not open for further replies.

jongrnl

Hi every one. I have a quick question and would like what ever advice I can get. I missed me deadline to get my Master Chief costume done for Halloween so I decided I might take a break from that and work on something a little more fun. I've been wanting to build a shotgun that will magnetize to my back piece and I think I might have the experience to finally start it. I would like every ones opinions though before I start to make sure I'm going down a sensible path.

What I've been thinking about doing is make a shotgun out of pep, fiber glassing the outside and then try to fill the inside with expanding foam. I've never worked with expanding foam before but I know people that have so I'm hoping I can do it slowly enough to not bow out my piece. Once that's done, I can drill a small hole to get the magnets installed and cover it over with another small strip of fiber glass. Then I can add Bondo and add what ever other detail I can find. I found Wizard of Flight's blueprints and will probably base a lot of my detail off that.

Will this work or will the fiber glass be too much of a pain on the outside of the prop? I've also heard about ways to use layers of foam to make weapons and other enclosed props out of but I've never been able to find a tutorial that walked though that. Is that a better technique? What kind of quality do you get out of the different methods?

To answer a few of your questions: yes, fiberglass will be a real pain if you put it on the outside of a pepakura model. The hours you spent cutting and folding all of that cardstock will be completely wasted when all of the details get covered by your fiberglass. Expanding foam is an interesting material. The issue with it in a prop like this, is that it never really stops expanding. It will be nearly impossible to prevent it from bowing out your model.