Halo: Reach Spartan Costume (First Build)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KnavishPlum

Hey everyone! So I have decided to finally build my own suit based on my Spartan from Halo: Reach.

Vanity Spartan.png
This is what it will look like minus that the EVA shoulder has been swapped to the Grenadier. Thanks goes to Sierra 107 for the Vanity pic. I have been working on figuring out the ratio of soft pieces to hard. I made a chart of what I think could work, but I have never used resin before so... will see about that.
Vanity Spartan Piece Chart.png
I am starting with the bicep as it gives me a good idea of scale for my arms. I printed the template out and made a paper test fit to start with.
Post 1 - Bicep01.jpg Post 1 - Bicep02.jpg
As you can see it is a bit large on my very skinny arm, but that is the plan as I need to scale the parts to not only me, but to my Helmet as well. I kinda look like a bobble head at the moment and my spartan is on the bulky side so scaling the arms up a bit should help I hope.

I plan on getting the foam some time this weak to start work on the biceps, I am not 100% on what to do next, I think maybe the chest to help nail down scaling, but I don't know how I feel about having a paper piece that large just sitting around. I also plan on stripping and repainting the helmet, but that won't happen until after all the other parts are made.

Scroll to post #25 to see actually progress

Last edited:
I need some help: How does one cut EVA floor mat neatly? Like with clean cuts?

I am using the Reach bicep tutorial for guidance and well, I can't get good cuts. I cannot get those tiny angles without shredding the thing. (For note, this is the indent in the back)
20170811_173308.jpg

It just looks... ratty. I am not sure if I can save this and I don't feel confident doing the other one, At least this is a barely seen part, but it just looks bad. I don't know if I am using an improper cutting tool:
20170811_173456.jpg