Hayabusa Helmet my first project

Status
Not open for further replies.

zohaibk

Hey Everyone! I am working on a hayabusa helmet and so far i have finished the pepakura part Which took about 2 days with the help of my sisters. now i am moving on to resin and rondo it. this is my first build and i hope everything goes smoothly. I have heard of many occasions where peoples helmets fall apart during resining. any tips on how to avoid that?

MdGm2l.jpg

NNoZal.jpg

Firstly, that looks awesome! Unfortunately I am still pepping my first helmet so I have no experience with resin/rondo. But from what I have read as long as you make sure the helmet is supported from the inside and you don't try to put on too much resin on at a time, it should be all good. This link might be handy:
This link

First of all.... Welcome to the 405th!
You're pep dose indeed look great, keep it up :)
As far as preventing warp/disaster when resin coating:
1. Make sure to install the support struts inside the helmet.
2. Do NOT try and resin coat the helmet in 1 pass, this caused too much weight, and saturates too much of the overall piece, thus, causing warpage or explosion! (I dramatically stretch the truth!) ;)

Slowly cover the whole helmet over 3-4 passes;
Coat 1. Start with say the bottom opening (going around the whole opening and up the helm for about 3 inches)
Coat 2. Do both sides of the helmet (stopping at the top of the face shield.
Coat 3. Do the front and back of the helmet (stopping at the same point as coat 3)
Coat 4. Do the top of the helmet... (and you're done)

You will have no warpage and have a smile :)
Now lather, rinse, repeat on the inside! (This time, do it all in 1 coat!)
Then... choose, Glass/Resin, rondo, or both!

Cheers,
Dave/Cereal.