HELP rondo vs. fiberglass cloth

Status
Not open for further replies.

Space Otter

Im new to this I'm almost done putting resin on my halo 3 scout helmet (need about one more coat) so I was wondering what to reinforce the inside with rondo or fiber glass cloth?

Rondo will fill in your details better, but fiberglass is sturdier and lighter. The best results will come from using rondo to get all the details, then going over the whole thing with fiberglass to strengthen it.

Or using fiberglass mat (the loose strands) to strengthen it first, a bit of sanding to take off the more prominent protrusions, then rondo to smooth it out so you don't get scratched by the fiberglass.

I havent tried this and its just theory but you could also do a light rondo coat to fill in details then cover that with fiberglass mat.

When it comes to rondo vs. fiberglass, rondo is a whole lot less messy, and fills in all the details better. I find it easier to work with. However fiber glassing is stronger. If you're looking to save money I would go with rondo. If money isn't an issue (and you don't mind fiberglass slivers) I would suggest using both, Like Zaff said and using the rondo to smooth it all out.

I plan on using a Rondo filling that has the fiberglass already mixed in myself, I saw this method on several threads. I would welcome comments myself about how well this method works.

All I'm gonna say is getting sheets of fibreglass lined up INSIDE of a helmet while trying to coat them in resin is not only INCREDIBLY messy, but in general a huge pain in the backside. I've only ever used Rondo for detailing, but next time I do a pep helmet I'll be reinforcing with it. I never want to relive the nightmare of fibreglassing.

i do both i usually fiberglass on the resin then rondo over to cover the rough hardened fiberglass

If you decided to use the fiberglass sheets, you could always use spray glue and put them in your helmet that way before you apply the resin :)