Hugh ODST Conversation (Part 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

WandererTJ

WandererTJ;464755 said:
So Hugh, being a 3D Design Engineer, I'm curious as to what all the different 3D softwares you know/are familiar with and which one happens to be your favorite, or if you have different favorites depending on what you are doing.

I'm familiar with AutoCAD, Solidworks, Lightwave 3D animation, and Autodesk Inventor, and so far Inventor has to be my favorite although I'm definitely not a pro at it.

Also, what are the benefits of having a mac over a pc when it comes to 3D design?

Could you link me to Zakuace's topic on visors?

Since I havent created/modded any pep files, I was curious as to what your process was, as in what 3D Modeler did you originally create the piece in, and then how you took it into the Pepakura Designer.

While on the topic of modding, I was curious as to what your opinion on the best way to do it would be. As seen in the ODST game, there are variants to the helmet, and it's different from person to person, so I was thinking about making mine reasonably-personalized.
th_DutchODST2.jpg In reference to the picture, which is a Pepakura of the Dutch helmet as seen in Halo 3: ODST, I am interested in adding the protrusions as seen located at the Red stars, and considering the the upper ridges on each side shown by the blue star (Green is airvents, while the yellow is a helmet light). Would you recommend actually editing the original Pepakura, or perhaps printing out the protrusions and seeing how well they look by attaching them on top of the original piece? Or perhaps a method I have not yet mentioned.

I have noticed a difference on the file you have given us versus the pics you have shown us of your models shown in red in the picture below. I am curious as to the functionality that these sections have as it pertains to the helmet. Are they purely decorative or do they act as air vents?