I was told this is the place to come for making some armor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alphateam

I hope this is the right place. I see this is Halo centric, but I'm told you might be the friendly sort for my questions.

Let me tell a bit about myself. I'm looking to make an Iron Man suit. I've been an Iron Man fan since I was a kid. I saw some tutorials using Pepakura and they looking very time consuming. But I guess any good armor would be. Anyway, I want an old school suit not a movie suit. Something like a John Romita Jr or Bob Layton suit from the late 80's early 90's.

Here is lies the question...do I Pepakura or 3D print it? I have zero experience with the Pepakua route. However I have been using 3D modeling programs off and on for 20 years now, mostly off. I'm familiar enough I think I could pick it up again pretty easy enough to make a suit if I can't find a model. At work I do have access to a 3D printer for which I'd also have to buy the material, which is about $4 a cubic inch I'm told. It only prints in 8x8x8 pieces so if I go the printing route I figure I'd have to make some sort of interlocking lego type connectors to make them lock in better. Or maybe there is a better route for connecting the pieces? I have a friend who is pretty good with Bondo so filling in the seams should not be a problem.

First off, welcome to the 405th! Hopefully we can supply you with what you need to start your build. From what I can tell you seem like you know what your doing with the 3d modeling. If your comfortable with that method your suit will be incredibly accurate. I'd read up on the forums about 3d printing before you start do anything.

-PHIL

I hope this is the right place. I see this is Halo centric, but I'm told you might be the friendly sort for my questions.