JUSTINIAN 117's MARK V BUILD

Status
Not open for further replies.

JUSTINIAN 117

This is my build thread for my Mark V suit from Halo 1.

I have been working on Halo props for the past 7 years, and up until the last month or so I had no clue any place like this existed. I would occasionally look for other things that people have made, but this place is great.

I originally started making everything out of card board, but now I use plastic and bondo. I don't really know what category my technique would fall under, I look at pictures, and I build it from scratch without molds or 3d models.

I just recently finished the top half of Halo 1 Master Chief for the Halo Reach release. This is the only picture I have of it now, but I will post more soon.

masterchief.jpg

Right now I only have a few pictures of the in progress, but I will post some better ones later.
Helmet:
101_3434.jpg

101_3435.jpg

101_3436.jpg

101_3437.jpg

Belt front:
101_3440.jpg

Belt Back:
101_3439.jpg

Back in 2004 I originally made the suite out of cardboard, and it came out pretty good.
Halo 3 release 2007:
masterchiefold.jpg

I decided to remake it out of plastic and bondo, so that it would look better. I am the manager of a sign business, so I pretty much have unlimited resources to get anything I need. My method was to find as many good angles of the suit, and basically build it by eye. I did a lot of the work on the computer, and cut most of the plastic with a laser at work. I would then route the edges at an angle so that they would fit together properly. In a nutshell I hand made pepakura files, and made it out of plastic instead of paper. Then I would bondo and sand it untill it was perfect. Then I used auto paint for the right finish.

Here are some of the final pictures:
100_1011.jpg

100_1012.jpg

100_1013.jpg

100_1014.jpg

100_1015.jpg

100_1020.jpg

100_1022.jpg

100_1024.jpg

100_1025.jpg

100_1026.jpg